Mirjam Leunissen Thesis Statement

FOM expres is the former magazine of the FOM Foundation and was published four times per year. The last issue was published in December 2016. Since 2009 the magazine has a section entitled: Women in Physics. In this section a portrait is sketched of a female physicist employed by the FOM Foundation, as a FOM workgroup leader or who was involved with FOM: who are they, what do they investigate and what are their ambitions? The section showcases the many successful and enthusiastic female physicists who worked at FOM doing outstanding research with numerous fantastic publications and results. 

On this page you can read all the portraits that have been published in the FOM expres (in Dutch only). By clicking on the associated name they will open. 

* The last few portraits have been translated in English. Click on this webpage to read the English versions.

  • Marjan Fretz (Manager Operations) and Sonia Castellanos (group leader) at ARCNL about 'fundamental research with relevance'
  • Dr. Mirjam Leunissen, former group leader, FOM Institute AMOLF
  • Dr. Anouk Rijs, researcher, FOM Institute DIFFER
  • Prof.dr. Renate Loll, professor of theoretical physics at Utrecht University and member of FOM's Governing Board
  • Dr. Olga Igonkina, researcher, FOM Institute for Subatomic Physics Nikhef
  • Marina Soares e Silva, FOM PhD researcher, FOM Institute AMOLF
  • Lucie de Nooij, FOM PhD researcher, FOM Institute for Subatomic Physics Nikhef/CERN
  • Dr. Britta Redlich, Facility Manager, FOM Institute DIFFER
  • Prof.dr. Roberta Croce, researcher and FOM workgroup leader, University of Groningen
  • Prof.dr. Maria Loi, FOM workgroup leader, University of Groningen 
  • Prof.dr. Nynke Dekker, professor of biophysics at Delft University and member of the FOM Executive Board
  • Dr. Izabela Piechocka, researcher, FOM Institute AMOLF
  • Prof.dr. Annalisa Fasolino, professor Computational Condensed Matter (RU) and member of the advisory committee Nanophysics/-technology
  • Ing. Krista de Roo, researcher, FOM Institute Nikhef
  • Dr. Silke Diedenhofen, postdoc, Institute of Photonic Sciences (CFO), Barcelona, Spain
  • Miranda van den Berg, FOM researcher, FOM Instituut DIFFER and
    Rianne 't Hoen, FOM PhD researcher, FOM Institute DIFFER
  • Prof.dr. Marileen Dogterom, professor and chair of the Bionanoscience at TU Delft (FOM expres nr. 4, December 2013)
  • Prof.dr.ir. Els Koffeman researcher at FOM Institute Nikhef and professor of particle physics at UvA (FOM expres nr. 1, April 2014)
  • Prof.dr.ir. Hester Bijl, professor of Computational Fluid Dynamics, dean of the faculty Aerospace Engineering, member of the FOM Governing Board. (FOM expres nr. 2, July 2014)
  • Hedyeh Keshtgar, guest researcher at FOM (IASBS, Iran) (FOM expres nr. 1, April 2015)
  • Prof.dr. Cristiane Morais Smith, Professor Solid State Physics at UU and Director of the Center for Extreme Matter and Emergent Phenomena (FOM expres nr. 1, April 2015)
  • Prof.dr. Ana Achúcarro, Professor Particle physics and cosmology (LEI) (FOM expres nr. 2, July 2015)
  • Prof.dr. Mireille Claessens, head Nanobiofysca group MESA+ Institute and the MIRA Institute University Twente

The prize consists of a bronze statue as well as a payment of 5.000 euro that the laureate is free to use as she wishes. There is considerable competition for this prize (about 30 submissions). The prize winners have notable results and/or careers.

As from 2017 FOM will be part of the new NWO. In 2017 the new NWO organisation will award the Minerva Prize. For further information we refer you to the information page about the NWO transition.

More information
For more information, please see the regulations (in the upper right corner of this webpage), or contact Mark Schmets, +31 70 344 05 37.

Minerva Prize winners and their publications:

  • Julia Cramer (2017)
    Repeated quantum error correction on a continuously encoded qubit by real-time feedback, published in Nature Communications in 2016. J. Cramer, N. Kalb, M.A. Rol, B. Hensen, M.S. Blok, M. Markham, D.J. Twitchen, R. Hanson & T.H. Taminiau.
  • Anouk Rijs (2015)
    Gas-phase peptide structures unraveled by far-IR spectroscopy, Angewandte Chemie International Edition, Vol 53, issue 14, 3663-3666, April 2014.
  • Katerina Dohnalová (2013)
    'Surface brightens up Si quantum dots: direct bandgap-like size-tunable emission', Dohnalová, K., Poddubny, A.N., Prokofiev, A.A., De Boer, W., Umesh, C.P., Paulusse, J.M.J., Zuilhof, H. & Gregorkiewicz, T., Light: Science & Applications (2013) 2, e47; doi:10.1038/lsa.2013.3
  • Maria Antoinietta Loi (2011*)
    Nanohybrids for Photonic Devices: Encapsulation of Conjugated Oligomers in Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes: Towards Nanohybrids for Photonic Devices, geschreven door Maria Antonietta Loi, Jia Gao, Fabrizio Cordella, Pascal Blondeau, Enzo Menna, Barbora Bártová, Cécile Hébert, Sorin Lazar, Gianluigi A. Botton, Matus Milko en Claudia Ambrosch-Draxl, Advanced Materials 14 (2010).
  • Mirjam Leunissen (2010)
    'Switchable self-protected attractions in DNA-functionalized colloids', M.E. Leunissen, R. Dreyfus, F.C. Cheong, D.G. Grier, R. Sha, N.C. Seeman and P.M. Chaikin, Nature Materials 8, 590 (2009).
  • Marika Taylor (2008)
    'Fuzzball solutions for black holes and D1-brane-D5-brane microstates', Kostas Skenderis and Marika Taylor, Physical Review Letters 98 (2007) 071601.
  • Sylvie Roke (2006)
    'Vibrational sum frequency scattering from a submicron suspension', Sylvie Roke, Wim Roeterdink, Judith Wijnhoven, Andrei Perukhov, Aart Kleyn and Mischa Bonn, Physical Review Letters 91 (2003) 258302.
  • Ute Ebert (2004)
    'Spontaneous branching of anode-directed streamers between planar electrodes', Manuel Arrayás, Ute Ebert and Willem Hundsdorfer, Physical Review Letters 88 (2002) 174502.
  • Suzanne Hulscher (2002)
    'Comparison between predicted and observed sand waves and sand banks in the North Sea', Suzanne J.M.H. Hulscher and G. Matthijs van den Brink, Journal of Geophysical Research 106 C5 (2001) 9327-9338.
  • Marjolein Dijkstra (2000)
    'Phase diagram of highly asymmetric binary hard-sphere mixtures', Marjolein Dijkstra, René van Roij and Robert Evans, Physical Review E 59 (1999) 5744-5771.
  • Liesbeth Venema (2000)
    'Imaging electron wave functions of quantized energy levels in carbon nanotubes', Liesbeth Venema, Jeroen Wildöer, Jorg Janssen, Sander Tans, Hinne Temminck Tuinstra, Leo Kouwenhoven and Cees Dekker, Science 283 (1999) 52-55.

* The Minerva Prize 2011 is actually the Minerva Prize 2012 (this bi-annual prize has been awarded for the last time in 2010). However FOM has decided to equalize the date of the Minerva Prize as from 2011 to the other FOM prizes.

The Minerva Prize is one of the activities of the FOm/f stimulation programme.

For further information please contact Mark Schmets, +31 70 344 05 37.

One thought on “Mirjam Leunissen Thesis Statement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *